What is Council Tax?

What is Council Tax and how is it spent?

Council Tax is a locally-set tax that is payable on all domestic property.

Each year, Eastleigh Borough Council is responsible for collecting Council Tax from Borough residents for its own services and those provided by Hampshire County Council, the Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Hampshire, Hampshire and Isle of Wight Fire & Rescue Services together with Town and Parish Councils.

In the Borough, there are over 60,000 properties to which Council Tax applies. The full amount of tax you pay is based on two factors: the property value, and the assumption that there are two or more adults, aged 18 or over, living there.

Property values are divided into eight bands, A to H, and the tax incurred by each property increases in increments - band A being the lowest. In certain circumstances the amount you pay may be reduced by either a discount or an exemption.

The value of your home was assessed by the Valuation Office Agency (not by Eastleigh Borough Council) based on its estimated sale value on 1 April 1991. Your home was valued to establish its relative value compared with other homes.

Details included in the Explanatory Notes that form part of your Council Tax demand are available across our Council Tax web area - regarding appeals, discounts, reductions and exemptions. Hard copies of this information will be issued free of charge if requested in writing.

How is your Eastleigh Borough Council element spent in the Borough?

Where does my Council Tax go?

The Council Tax we collect 2024/2025 is divided into the following percentages between the following organisations:

72% - Hampshire County Council

12% - Police and Crime Commissioner for Hampshire

7% - Eastleigh Borough Council

4%  - Fire & Rescue Services

5% - Parish/Town Councils

The amount, precepts and percentage increase collected by these organisations appear on your Council Tax bill.