Our Constitution

How the Council works, how decisions are made and the procedures we follow

The Constitution sets out:

  • the rules and procedures to be followed by the Council and committees when conducting their business;
  • the decision making powers of the Cabinet and of Committees; 
  • the  financial and contract regulations;
  • the scheme of delegation to chief officers;
  • the rights of the public to inspect reports and background documents;
  • codes of conduct for councillors and employees;
  • members' interests and members' allowances.

The Constitution is divided into seven sections:

  1. Contents
  2. Amended Articles
  3. Responsibility of Functions
  4. Rules of Procedure
  5. Codes and Protocols
  6. Councillors' Allowance Scheme
  7. Management Structure