Information for election agents and candidates

Key dates, documents and deadlines for Thursday 2 May

On Thursday 2 May 2019 (7am-10pm) there will be borough elections for all areas, except Botley, and, if contested, parish/town council elections for Bursledon, Fair Oak & Horton Heath, Hedge End, Hound and West End.

If you would like to stand as a candidate, useful guidance and resources to support you through the process together with nomination papers are available:

Other information

Please note:  Legislation removing the requirement for candidates to have their home address published on the ballot paper and statement of persons nominated at principal area elections and parish council elections has now been made and will apply for all principal area and parish council elections held in England on or after 2 May 2019. Therefore, you must use the updated nomination forms.


Key dates and deadlines for candidates and election agents:

Thursday 7 March

  • Candidates and election agents briefing at 2.30pm in Eastleigh House

Tuesday 26 March

  • Notice of election published
  • Electoral register is made available to candidates
  • First day nomination papers can be submitted between 10am – 4pm
  • Poll cards issued for delivery until 7 April
  • Candidate spend limit calculated

Wednesday 3 April

  • Close of nominations (4pm)
  • Candidate withdrawal deadline (4pm)
  • Election agent appointment deadline (4pm)
  • Notice of election agents published (4pm)

Thursday 4 April

  • Statements of persons nominated published (4pm)

Thursday 11 April (approx)

  • Postal votes issued for those applications set up by 6 March (5pm)

Friday 12 April

Monday 15 April

Tuesday 16 April

  • Postal vote opening daily until election day starting at 10.00am, Eastleigh House (subject to numbers received)

Tuesday 23 April (approx)

  • Late postal votes issued for those applications set up between 7 March and 15 April (5pm)

Wednesday 24 April

  • Notice of poll published
  • Deadline to apply for a regular proxy vote (5pm)
  • First date to apply for an emergency proxy vote (after 5pm) conditions apply - phone

Thursday 25 April

  • Deadline to appoint poll agents, count agents and voting agents

Friday 26 April

  • First date to issue replacement postal votes

Thursday 2 May - Polling day

  • Postal vote opening at 10.30am, Eastleigh House
  • Deadline to issue replacement postal votes (5pm)
  • Deadline to apply for emergency proxy vote (5pm) (conditions apply). Please contact elections@eastleigh.gov.uk or phone 023 8068 8000 (during office hours)
  • Postal vote opening at 10pm, Places Leisure Eastleigh
  • The Count, 10pm, Places Leisure Eastleigh (ticketed entry only)

Friday 3 May

  • Declaration of results published

Friday 7 June

  • Deadline to return candidate election expenses (Borough) if declared after midnight

Thursday 30 May

  • Deadline to return candidate election expenses (Parish)