The Cabinet

Page last updated at 16 June 2017 at 13:01


The Cabinet is the part of the Council which is responsible for day-to-day decisions other than 'local' issues (see Area Committees) and miscellaneous matters (see Administration Committee).

The Cabinet is made up of between 2 and 9 Councillors (currently there are 8 Members of the Cabinet) who are appointed by the Leader and have powers to take decisions on the Council's behalf (generally concerned with operation of Council services and the formulation of policy). They also make recommendations for approval by the Council relating to the Council's overall policy framework.

The Cabinet's work programme is set out in the Council's Forward Plan, and includes those 'key decisions' which the Council proposes to make. The Cabinet publishes the Forward Plan each month, for a four month period.

Meetings of the Cabinet are generally open to the public except where personal or confidential matters are being discussed.