The Council

Councillors, meetings, agendas and minutes

The Council is made up of 44 Councillors (also referred to as Members) who are elected by the local community to represent its views. A Councillor represents one of 19 wards in the Borough and serves for a term of four years. Councillors are responsible for making decisions on behalf of the community about local services, like waste collection, leisure facilities and agreeing budgets and Council Tax charges.

The political make up of the Council is:

Liberal Democrat – 33
Conservative – 6
Independent Liberal Democratic Group – 5
Vacant – 0